01851 822850

Back to DYW Live Offers > Foundation Apprenticeship Social Services and HealthCare SCQF Level 6

Comhairle Nan Eilean Siar

Course Type:
Type 4 - Certified Courses (including Foundation Apprenticeships)

Services and Health

Age Group:
S4, S5, S6


Start/End Dates:
Available between 6th Sep - 31st Dec 2021

Timetable Availability:
Mondays/Tuesdays/Wednesdays/Thursdays/Fridays (AM only)

Number of Sessions:

50 minute


Repetition Frequency:

Max Capacity:
Minimum 6 - Maximum 15

What's the qualification?
Foundation Apprenticeship in Social Services and Healthcare, which is the same level of learning as an SQA Higher (SCQF level 6) and includes industry-standard, employer recognised qualifications, core skills and work experience:

  • A National Progression Award (NPA) in Social Services and Healthcare at SCQF level 6
  • Core units of an SVQ in Social Services and Healthcare at SCQF level 6
  • A work placement

What will I learn? The National Progression Award incorporates SQA Units at SCQF6 in:

  • Social Services in Scotland
  • Safeguarding People
  • Communication in Care Relationships
  • Safe Practice and Wellbeing in Social Services
  • Human Development and Social Influences

Candidates can achieve the full SVQ* Level 2 (SCQF6) in the workplace while on placement:

  • Support effective communication
  • Support the health and safety of yourself and individuals
  • Develop your own knowledge and practice
  • Support the safeguarding of individuals

A Foundation Apprenticeship also helps develop core skills valued by employers, particularly:

  • Communication
  • Problem solving
  • Working with others
  • Time management

Additional Requirements:
This course does have a work experience element.

Other Info:
Not at this time.

Please register your interest here!